Part Fifty-Seven ~ What Else Was There (at the Upper Mills)
June 19, 2017
Last week we took a look at the west end of the Mill Pond and saw the International Buckle Factory in its glory days before the fire that destroyed it in 1909. Back in the early 1900s, the Upper Mills was the location of the Buckle Factory, The Electric Light and Milling Company, and of course, Mount-View Hospital. This week we’ll take a look at three more photos of the Upper Mills.
The Upper Mills showing The Stoness Mill before it burned and would later be replaced with the brick mill that some may remember. Note the lack of houses along Mountain Road and the west end of Bedford Street. ~ Courtesy of the Rideau District Museum from our early Westport photo album.
Dam on the Mill Pond ~ Prior to The Stoness Mill, the Electric Light & Milling Company was located on the pond. The EL&M was purchased by the Stoness family after the dam broke ~ Courtesy of the Rideau District Museum from our early Westport photo album.
Another great photo of the Upper Mills ~ Courtesy of The Rideau District Museum from our early Westport photo album
Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Leeds Chargers Minor Hockey Association now has 60 players registered in its current Initiation program for 4-6 year olds.
This number represents a sub...
Leeds Minor Hockey Initiation Program
January 9, 2020
Advertising Opportunities for Local Business
July 17, 2019
In its 2nd year, the Shinny Program, spear headed by former NHL hockey player Rick Smith and his wife Annie, gives kids the opportunity to experience...